The Art of Sci-Fi

September 2, 2011 § Leave a comment

“HOW HAVE YOU NOT SEEN STAR WARS?!??”

I asked Her as we pulled into the Sonic drive through, with bellies roaring with hunger after the four hour hike up and down a spectacular bluff in Tazewell, Virginia.  Our photographic venture had left us both amazed and starving.

“Haha, I don’t know,” she retorted, “you know I’m not really crazy about Sci-Fi stuff and all.”

Over the next ten minutes, while utterly destroying the cheeseburgers, onion rings, and frothy milkshakes that laid before us, I explained the depth of those three movies as best I could.  How starships and lightsabers only set the stage to tell an epic and moving story about courage, loyalty, friendship, love (if you, like I do, consider the three as a single story), sacrifice, and especially redemption.  I’ve witnessed many a Facebook status to the amount of “everybody deserves a second chance,” but have seen few events which better exemplify redemption than Vadar’s sacrifice at the end of the third film.

“Seriously?”  She added at the conclusion of my spiel, “I always thought it was just an action movie, with lasers and robots and stuff.”

“Well, I mean, it has that too,” I responded with a rather large grin on my face.

“Haha, boys will be boys.”

“I don’t think science fiction has to do with gender.  I think more than anything it’s because we really want to believe than anything is possible,” I said to Her, “that our experiences are only limited by our imaginations.  I mean take Blade Runner for example…”  She laughed and gave me a look as if I was talking about some futuristic weapon of mass destruction.

“It’s a movie, haha,” I quickly added.  I recalled to Her the scene in which Deckard repeatedly asks his computer to “enhance” an image to give him a lead in his investigation.  “I wish getting a great shot was as easy for me as it is for Rick Deckard.  We just hiked up and down a mountain, and I might have gotten nothing at all.”

“Oh my gosh, hush.  I loved the shot you took of the owl in Warner Park.  You’ve got a great skill,” she said.

“Umm, not exactly,” I quickly added, “Had I not driven by at that exact moment, OR not had my camera, OR not brought my long lens, OR not had such a perfect subject who for God only knows stayed on that branch despite my frantic (and rather loud) attempts to open the trunk of my car and put my gear together, that shot would have never occurred.  That was more luck than art!”

“Well you consider Star Wars art even though science says it shouldn’t have happened either right?  I think I’ve picked out a movie for us to watch tonight.”

I smiled to myself as we pulled out of the parking lot.  After all, everything has an art to it.

-A.M.A.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Art of Sci-Fi at Science/Fiction.

meta

