The Five-Minute Rule

September 9, 2011 § Leave a comment

I am an ardent believer of free will, and thus find little value in traveling to the future.  I would disregard all things I see in the future travels since they are only the consequential version of a reality that could come to fruition only if all the people and events take place exactly the way that they did.  This is why I, for one, would much rather conduct travels to the past.  There are several moments in history that I would like to witness, and the two on the top of the list are: the era of Egyptian pyramid-building projects and Beethoven’s concerts and performances after he went deaf.

Watching Egyptians build their pyramids would once and for all settle the mystery of how they built it.  Maybe my friends and I could even place bets on our guesses of how they managed to stack all the gigantic blocks on top of each other, I can travel back in time and take a picture of the construction process, and bring it back to settle the bet.  I would probably time travel before placing the bet with my friends to make sure I win the bet, assuming the truth isn’t so elaborate that it won’t be so obvious.

My purpose for visiting Beethoven after he went deaf is that so many of his compositions during this era seem to have a ridiculously fast tempo, and I would like to know whether or not this was a misjudgment due to his inability to hear at this point in his life.  I would go to his concerts and performances of his pieces, and I would take my metronome with me to double-check that he is following his own instructions.  This would settle centuries of debate centered on Beethoven’s music and his intentions and reconcile the differences between the purist and realist interpreters of his music.

All these nerdy history trips would definitely enrich my life , but ultimately, I do not even know if I would enjoy time travelling since I would be so paranoid that I could alter one little speck of dirt and somehow initiate a cascade of changes that could transform the world I know.  But not to worry.  I would just travel back to a point before the time I had just visited during which I made such a terrible altercation, and then make sure that the future version of me that I come across a minute later at this historical moment does not repeat the same fatal step.  In my world of time travelling, whenever an individual meets another version of himself or herself that has also traveled in time, it is always the person travelling from the farther point in future that survives, and the other version evaporates five minutes after the two meet.  Hopefully, this rule would simplify my life as a frequent time traveler.

HJL

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Five-Minute Rule at Science/Fiction.

meta

