I hate cosmology.

October 14, 2011 § Leave a comment

With respect to the announcement in class Thursday that we would be moving on to the “squishy” sciences, I couldn’t help but heave a sigh of relief in my head as I realized this meant no more cosmology. I don’t mean to offend people who enjoy this particular field of study, but it’s just so god-damned depressing.

Ever since “Through the Wormhole with Morgan Freeman” started airing, I’ve not been able to think about the cosmos without feeling completely insignificant. Cosmologists speak of unfathomable distances and call them “short.” They refer to periods of billions of years as “brief.” Then what does that make me and my probable 80-year lifespan? What does that make us?  What does that even make our galaxy?

In the context of a late Wednesday night, I was mentally paralyzed and deemed all other homework insignificant as I tried to find comfort in sleep. After all, what’s the point of Macroeconomics if there will be no stars left in the universe 100 trillion years from now?

Good-bye and good riddance. On the other hand I can’t wait to see what the biological sciences have contributed to science fiction plots, other than zombie/vampire stories of course. As I mentioned in a previous blog, the science fiction story I’m planning to write involves the discovery of a way to eliminate “aging” as a cause of death. I’ve been informed that there is a “Dr. Who” spin-off series (“Torchwood”) with a similar premise, but with no knowledge of even the original show, I’m sure I can manage to keep the plot original. I must admit, however, that I will likely be taking many ideas from a certain webcomic I happened upon in which a T-rex rants to his reptilian counterparts about the societal implications of immortality  whilst he crushes a log cabin beneath his feet.

In case you’re interested:

http://www.qwantz.com/index.php?comic=2030

Also relevant:

http://www.qwantz.com/index.php?comic=2033

Schuyler

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I hate cosmology. at Science/Fiction.

meta

